social media stock market sentiment analysis. (ORION) #1

Every now and then, I come up with small projects so that I pickup the latest cloud tech and get some hands on experience. Codename ORION (dont as me why :/), I ll describe the problem statement below, what POC I did, and what is the future state I envision to get a hands on experience to as many azure cloud services as possible. All the post regarding the work done on this project will be tagged (Orion) #x .

Problem statement –

I am big into stock markets. Never had a hobby, but if a part time stock market trading is one, then that’s mine. After spending years in Indian stock market, I recently decided to try my luck in US stocks. With a broad number of platforms now available in Australia to trade USA stocks and options at low or zero fees, there was no better time. But very soon after going deep in USA stocks, I found I was out of time on my reading. Social media and some other stock forums are a goldmine, filled up with many detailed analysis and stock tips. Not all of them are true. Social media is used left and right for stock manipulation. But occasionally, there are few good tips too, from people who genuinely want to help. And I can confirm that from my personal experience.

Now the problem. Currently I am following over 50 twitter and reddit accounts, and have bookmarked tons more on YouTube and eToro. Who the heck knew YouTube will give stock market tips in future. As a rule, I don’t want to spend more than 30 minutes daily reading on stocks, so I thought of using some azure cognitive services to see if I can cut down on my reading time and results have been good. As part of POC, what I basically did is to extract data from all the twitter and reddit accounts I follow, identity what stock are being mentioned in the comments/tweets/posts, and then run sentiment analysis on top of it to pick up the positive sentiment stocks. That way, whenever I am short on time, I can just pick the most discussed positive stock and start doing analysis on that. The results of the POC have been good. See this report with some data coming in –

Orion (web20210204143550.azurewebsites.net)

Now I want to leverage this project to not only help me out by cutting down on my reading part, but also use this as an opportunity to learn some new azure services that I have been aiming to do some hands on skilling. The current state of the POC is like this

pretty basic from what you see above. I ll now slowly start changing this to below target state. That would also help me scale this to lot of other social media sites and forums. Currently the POC used just twitter and reddit.

Most important change to current state would be use of KEDA to run azure functions on AKS. Also see where I can leverage the new logic apps on container offering. Will also try to deploy some other services to AKS if possible like API gateways and SQL on containers and monitor its stability ahead, later being a stateful deployment and not the usual stateless kubernetes deployment.

for every change done, I ll try to write a blog it out for anyone keen to get some hands on experience on above tech.

something similar can always be done by any business to capture user sentiments on various social media platforms and then tie back those comments/sentiments to a particular team/product/offering rather than assuming the sentiment is towards an entire brand.

Leave a comment